Quick Links

Quick Links

Woods Loke Primary School

The Woods Loke Character Curriculum


The Character Curriculum was designed to actively promote our Heath & Wellbeing curriculum, enhancing this to make more explicit and sophisticated provision for the growth of character virtues.

It has been created in response to a review of in-school wellbeing education (including RSE), the EEF Social & Emotional Learning report (2019) and the Character Framework paper (2019), as well as the ongoing need to support our pupils and families following the recent pandemic.

What is The Woods Loke Character Curriculum?

At the heart of The Woods Loke Character Curriculum is the development of ‘virtues[1]’ and practical wisdom to help all our children belong, participate and flourish within society. Specifically, the Woods Loke Character Curriculum identifies nine key virtues that it aims to promote and that the school feel are synonymous with the core curriculum offer:

  • Confidence
  • Courage
  • Respect
  • Consideration
  • Humility
  • Generosity
  • Justice
  • Integrity
  • Gratitude

 As well as this, there is a focus on understanding our place in the world, our relationship with it and with those around us. It also offers an exciting range of opportunities for our pupils. These include the chance for pupils to compete, perform, volunteer and otherwise participate in events and activities which are designed to foster an understanding of excellence across disciplines.

Constituting five branches, our Character Curriculum is carefully planned to run in tandem with parts of our core curriculum. It is designed to support children in caring for and respecting themselves and others - promoting and engendering a sense of pride, belonging and identity in our school community.

[1] We define a virtue as a trait that sustains a well-rounded life